Skip to content ↓
The Jubilee Academy

The Jubilee Academy

Health and Social Care

Curriculum and Assessment Maps


Introduction/Course overview

The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care (Qualification Number: 603/0395/5)

The Edexcel BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech award in Health and Social Care provides an engaging, robust, broad-based introduction to the sector. The qualification builds on learning from Key Stage 3 for those who may wish to explore a vocational route throughout Key Stage 4.

It also provides a good introduction to Health and Social Care for learners in post-16 education, and brings together learning at levels 1 and 2 to ensure that every learner taking the qualification completes it with a level of understanding and skill on which to build at a later date. It presents knowledge, skills and understanding in a meaningful work-related context, to allow learners to understand theory and application.

The Course has also been developed to:

  • give learners the opportunity to gain a broad understanding and knowledge of the health and social care sector
  • give learners a more focused understanding of health and social care through the selection of optional specialist units
  • give learners the opportunity to develop a range of personal skills and techniques, through the selection of units that are essential for successful performance in working life
  • give opportunities for learners to achieve a nationally recognised level 1/level 2 health and social care qualification
  • support progression into a more specialised level 3 vocational or academic course or into an apprenticeship

Click here for the BTEC First Award in Health and Social Care Purpose Statement

Year 9/10 KS4 curriculum

The BTEC first award is a 120 guided learning hour course which will give you a vocational qualification.  It will give you the knowledge, understanding and skills to help prepare you for employment or to lead on to further areas of study.

The course consists of 3 core units for the complete qualification which have specific learning outcomes.

Three units have been broken down into assignment tasks which form part of a number of central assignment briefs. In addition, there will be an external examination to assess the remaining unit.

Learners will be expected to complete unit 1 and 2 from the list below during year 9/10.

Edexcel Tech Award in Health & Social care

Unit Core units GLH Assessment method

Unit 1

Human Lifespan Development

36 Internal

Unit 2

Health & Social Care Values

30 Internal

Unit 3

Health and Wellbeing

48 Synoptic (External)


Year 11 KS4 curriculum

Students in year 11 also studies the Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care and will complete unit 3 Health and well-being in addition to units 1 and 2 above.


The qualification consists of three components that give learners the opportunity to develop broad knowledge and understanding of health and social care at Levels 1 and 2.

Internal assessment

Components 1 and 2 are assessed through internal assessment. Internal assessment for these components has been designed to relate to achievement of application of the conceptual underpinning for the sector through realistic tasks and activities.

Synoptic external assessment

There is one external assessment, Component 3, which provides the main synoptic assessment for the qualification. Component 3 builds directly on Components 1 and 2 and enables learning to be brought together and related to a real-life situation.

Component 3: Health and Wellbeing requires learners to assess an individual’s health and wellbeing and use this assessment to create a health and wellbeing improvement plan


Unit title and description

Assessment and duration


Component 1

Human Lifespan Development

Non-Examination Assessment


Component 2

Health & social care values

Non-Examination Assessment


Component 3

Health and wellbeing

Written examination

2 hours